Tell us your story!

Loutit District Library has deep roots in the community we serve, and the stories you share with us about all the ways you use and are invested in your library move, inspire, and motivate us. You have told us how you use your library not only to borrow materials but to find employment, reconnect with long-lost friends and family, learn new skills and spend time with those you care about. Those stories should be told. One of our patrons wrote:

My mother loved to read and would regularly bring me to the library on Saturdays. She had a terminal lung disease, and I think reading helped her to cope and she encouraged me to read also. My mother has been gone for 40 years now, but I love to read and now bring my daughter to the library regularly. Thank you, Loutit Library, for the gift of books!

Click on Comment below to read what other library users had to say or to tell us how Loutit District Library has influenced your life. Share your memories, communicate its importance to you, your family, and our community! Your stories help us advocate for public library funding with elected officials and prove what an important asset the library is to the citizens of our service area. We want to hear from you!

Please note: In order to leave a comment, you must give a name and your email address. You may use only your first name, if you wish. Your email address will not be displayed on this site. By submitting your story here, you give permission for Loutit District Library to use your story in any promotions at its discretion. Library staff may contact you via email for clarification or more details.

Categories: Community | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Tell us your story!

  1. Kerry

    When I was young, I wasn’t a very good reader and didn’t like to use the library. I didn’t understand how to find books in the library and the quiet was intimidating. But my mom always read to me and I loved the books we brought home from the library. In high school, she helped me understand the card catalog. Mom always wanted to be a teacher or librarian but stayed home to raise four kids instead. Then I went away to college and took a part-time job in the library there and found that libraries weren’t so intimidating after all! I enjoyed helping people so much that I changed my major and decided to get a Master’s degree in library science. Now I’m a librarian, thanks to my mom and libraries everywhere.

  2. Library Fan

    In grade school I remember attending free movies at the library during the hot summer months. It was a magical place to find books. My friends and I used to get stern looks from the librarians for riding the elevator up and down. We also climbed the brick wall and messed with the crab apple trees. I guess I was one of the “kids from the hood”, but always felt as though the library was a welcoming place to be, better than home. It continued to be a peaceful refuge through my teenage years and into adulthood. Later, my own child found life long friends at the library teen programs and I was able to introduce her to some of the same books I had read there. Then she expanded her world of reading to discover her own favorite new authors. I like to think the library will be a favorite place for my grandchildren someday.

  3. Yskje Francisca

    Growing up in a medium town our family had the convenience of a nearby library to find and research anything that was needed for homework..later, in my travels, I remember always knowing that libraries were places to rejuvenate our weary highway minds and check out the stacks for whatever may be the interest of the day. During the early seventies, while in Boulder, Colorado I remember being in the library, finding the Bob Dylan Song Book and copying down words and music for later ‘A Hard Rain’s Gonna Fall”It’s All Over Now Baby Blue’… (long before copy machines were so everywhere) and comforting works of literature. What a good memory of that library in those days; rather dark and tucked away at the heavy table you could spend hours and just read. Librarians not minding our long hair and bluejeans….. a great place to write letters to friends and family back home. Libraries were and still are a refuge of being for me. I will forever appreciate these buildings with what is in them and am also glad that others feel that way.

  4. April

    I grew up living only a few blocks from the library. At least three times a week I would walk to the library with my friends or my grandma, and come back with a large brown paper bag filled to the brim with books. I remember a shelf on books labeled “Third Grade Readers”, and thinking that I couldn’t wait to get into third grade to be able to read those books! The library has always been a refuge for me, and I loved that I could go and find books to read, records to listen to, and a whole new world was available to me, at no charge. I’m so glad that my children are now falling in love with the library, just like I did when I was younger.

  5. Reima LaDell

    I am so very grateful for the use of the library computers. As a struggling single parent, I was unable to repair my computer during a time I was writing my autobiography of poems. Nearly the entire book was typed and edited in your computer lab. Because of this great service, my book “A Scarlet Rain” is being published and slated for release in December. I couldn’t have done it without you. Thank you.

    Reima LaDell

  6. James Dolan

    My recollections of the library extend back to the days of the old Carnegie building on Third Street. As a kid in the early fifties I thought the building was huge. I have vivid memories of walking up the steps, going through the door and walking up more steps. On the left, there were imposing red leather chairs arranged around what may have been a fireplace. That’s where old people sat to read the newspaers On the right was the “check out desk” manned by one or two very stern (to me) ladies. One of the ladies may have been Elizabeth Van Oettengen (sp)? I remember there were pale blue library cards that had brass clips on them. I never did know why the brass clips were on them. I think they were stored in wood files. I also remember that the daily fine for late returns was two cents per day. I borrowed every Landmark Books history series they had and most of the time I was late in returning them but I don’t think the “stern” ladies ever charged me the 2 cent fine.

    I love my memories of the old library and the era it served.

  7. Steve Lyles

    I have been coming to the Loutit Library for 45 years. I was shown the power of this place on a class field trip from Elliott school. The books are there for every age range, I started at the children’s section went through the adolescents and now I read from every section. Not staying in just one area allows me to fly into space and travel into the future, It helps me find new projects to work on in my woodcraft shop. I live on a fixed income so I am not able to purchase new books, the library had new books to loan at the price of free. For a small price of one dollar I can rent a movie for seven days, for fifty cents I can rent a music cd for seven days. These prices are just unheard of in todays high priced economy. I geek this wonderful building at least twice a month. The lady’s behind the counters are always friendly and helpful. The reading contests keep me exploring topics I would not think of searching out, this keeps me learning new things all the time. I started reading at the age of four, and at 50 I am still reading at least one book a week. I do really geek this place, and I will continue to for many years to come.

  8. Jennifer McCullough

    I grew up in a family of 6 six kids, and not enough room for all of us! The library was both literally and figuratively my escape! Growing up, my local library didn’t have many programs for children and teenagers, but it wasn’t even an issue for me. I’d spend so many hours after school or on hot summer days at the library that the smell of books is one of the most comforting things I can think of. I even wanted to be a librarian as a child because it seemed to me that it would be the greatest job I could imagine! I moved to Grand Haven 8 years ago, and one of the first things I did was find the local library, and boy! was I impressed. It was much more modern than the library I was used to, even before the renovations! Yet it still held that welcoming comfort that I was used to, and the programs offered -even for adults!- really impressed me. Now that I’m raising my own son, library trips have become a regular part of our free time together. We both look forward to it, and to me, walking in to that comfort and being surrounded by all those adventures to escape into is like being a kid again!

Tell us your story

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

